All-Decade Team

Mike Trout headlines’s All-Decade Team.

Over at, over 70 writers were polled to compile the All-Decade team.

Usually I don’t get too into these things. Still, it’s part of baseball history and a lot of these names are guys I have written about so many times. Without them, there are several hundred less posts on this site. So here they are as voted by the employees of baseball realm.

First Team
C: Buster Posey
1B: Miguel Cabrera
2B: José Altuve
3B: Adrián Beltré
SS: Francisco Lindor
OF: Mike Trout
OF: Mookie Betts
OF: Andrew McCutchen
DH: Nelson Cruz
SP: Justin Verlander
SP: Max Scherzer
SP: Clayton Kershaw
SP: Zack Greinke
SP: Chris Sale
RP: Craig Kimbrel
RP: Aroldis Chapman

Second Team
C: Yadier Molina
1B: Joey Votto
2B: Robinson Canó
3B: Nolan Arenado
SS: Troy Tulowitzki
OF: Giancarlo Stanton
OF: Bryce Harper
OF: José Bautista
DH: David Ortiz
SP: Madison Bumgarner
SP: Jacob deGrom
SP: David Price
SP: Stephen Strasburg
SP: Corey Kluber
RP: Kenley Jansen
RP: Wade Davis

The most obvious selection for me is one Mike Trout. He may be the player of the century when all is said and done. This is what had to say about his rather obvious selection.

1st Team — Mike Trout (LAA): Three AL MVP Awards, seven top-two finishes, an AL Rookie of the Year Award, eight straight All-Star seasons … the list goes on and on. The best player in baseball was an easy choice.

I love seeing Joey Votto and Nolan Arenado on the list, and I think that they got this mostly right. Finally, it’s fun to think about who will make up the 2020’s all-decade team. Can anyone on this list make it to that one? Trout, Bryce Harper, and Francisco Lindor have a shot.