Greatest Players In Jacksonville Jaguars History

When compared to other football teams, the Jaguars are quite new having held their first season in 1995. They were founded alongside the Carolina Panthers as an expansion team.

In their first 5 seasons of existence, the Jaguars qualified for playoffs in 4 of them. This strong start to the franchise cemented the Jaguars are a team to look out for.

They are currently led by head coach Doug Pederson who took the role in 2022 and is the 9th coach in the franchise’s history.

In this article, we cover some of the greatest players that have played for the Jaguars.

Make sure you keep an eye on the NFL Draft Betting Odds, to see how the Jaguars are doing in the season.

Tony Boselli

Tony Boselli was the left tackle for the Jaguars from 1995 to 2001. Boselli was the first-ever pick for the Jaguars and is considered one of their best picks to date.

He was forced into early retirement in 2002 due to a shoulder injury. Even in his relatively short career, Boselli was named Pro Bowler 5 times from 1996 to 2000 and All-Pro 3 times. He would be named to the NFL 1990s All-Decade team.

He was the first inductee into the Pride of Jaguars in 2006 and was their first retired number in 2022.

In 2022, Boselli would also become the first ever Jaguar to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Jimmy Smith

Jimmy Smith was first drafted by the Dallas Cowboys in 1992 but would later join the Jaguars as a wide receiver in 1995 and stay with them until 2005.

His time with the Cowboys was plagued by injuries and almost fatal hospital trips but he did manage to get 2 Super Bowl rings with them.

Smith’s first season with the Jaguars was slow but he soon picked up speed and started dominating. He received 5 Pro Bowls and was inducted into the Pride of Jaguars in 2016.

He finished his career with 12,287 yards, 862 receptions, and 69 touchdowns. For a receiver, it is a hard-to-beat record that has yet to be done on the Jaguars.

Mark Brunell

Mark Brunell was the first quarterback in the franchise’s history and left a lasting impression. He was first drafted by the Green Bay Packers in 1993 before joining the Jaguars.

He received Pro Bowl 3 times and to this day holds every major passing record in Jaguar’s history. He would be inducted into the Pride of Jaguars in 2013.

After the Jaguars he would join the Washington Redskins in 2004 until 2007 when he would go to the New Orleans Saints. 

Brunel would win his first and only Super Bowl with the Saints before moving to the New York Jets in 2010 and then retiring in 2011.

Fred Taylor

Fred Taylor was a running back for the Jaguars from 1998 to 2008. He would spend his final 2 seasons with the New England Patriots in 2009 and 2010.

His first 4 seasons were affected by injuries but he dominated his last seasons with him having 7 1,000 rushing yards seasons.

He received a Pro Bowl once and Second-Team All-Pro once before being inducted into the Pride of Jaguars in 2012. 

Taylor is one of the few members of the 10,000 yards rushing club.

Maurice Jones-Drew

MJD was a running back for the Jaguars from 2006 to 2013 and gained the nickname ‘Pocket Hercules’ due to his 5’7” height.

Despite his size, he was an impressive player earning 3 Pro Bowls and 2 All-Pros. 

He would go on to play his final season with the Oakland Raiders in 2014.

Keenan McCardell

Keenan McCardell was a ride receiver for the Jaguars from 1996 to 2001. His play style paired beautifully with another player on this list, Jimmy Smith, earning them the nicknames Thunder and Lightning.

McCardell was previously a member of the Washinton Redskins in 1991 where he gained a Super Bowl ring. Before the Jaguars he was was also a member of the Cleveland Browns from 1992 to 1995.

After the Jaguars he joined the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2002 and won his second Super Bowl with them. He would join the San Diego Chargers in 2004 and stayed with them until 2006. His final season in 2007 saw him return to the Washington Redskins.

Throughout his career, he got 2 Pro Bowls.

Tony Brackens

Tony Brackens was a defensive end for the Jaguars from 1996 to 2004 and despite an injured 1998 season, he would go on to play his best season in 1999.

He would get 1 Pro Bowl and 1 Second-Team All-Pro with the Jaguars.

Brad Meester

Brad Meester played center for the Jaguars throughout his whole career from 2000 to 2013. He holds the record for most seasons played in Jaguars history.

Meester also holds the franchise record for most career starts and played with 209.

Final Thoughts

As a young team, the Jaguars have a lot of potential and are definitely a team to keep an eye out for in the future.